Skip to content

National Service Scheme


National Service Scheme (NSS) is a Central Government Educational Programme started in the year 1969. It is functioning under the ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports at the national level and under the Ministry of Higher Education at the State level. The NSS has been introduced in colleges and universities all over India in response to the Kothari Commission’s recommendation that education should be oriented to the social needs by involving students in service to the community.

College of Applied Science Mavelikkara has a committed N.S.S. wing. We have two National Service Scheme (NSS) units comprising 100 volunteers. Volunteers who undergo the prescribed course of training are awarded certificates from the University. This certificate gives weightage for higher studies and is an additional qualification for appointment in public services.

Some of the key activities of our National Service Scheme (NSS) wing

• Mobilization of  students to participate in various Social Service
• Organization of Day Camp
• Personality Development Training
• Participation in Social Surveys
• Cleaning of Public places and institutions
• Blood donors’ Forum along with NCC

To know more about NSS under IHRD visit

Not Me But You

NSS Achievements

Our NSS unit has awarded

*Kerala State Govt. Best NSS Unit Award (2015-16)- Unit No 48

*Kerala State Govt. Best Programme Officer Award -Sri.Regimon V R (Lecturer in Computer Science)(2015-16)

*IHRD STATE NSS CELL Best NSS Unit Award : Unit No 48 (2014-15,2015-16)

*IHRD STATE  NSS CELL Best Programme Officer – Sri.Regimon V R (Lecturer in Computer Science)(2014-15 & 2015-16)

IHRD STATE NSS CELL Best Volunteer – Sri. Sarathkumar (BSc Computer Science)(2014-15 & 2015-16)

IHRD STATE NSS CELL Best Volunteer – Sri.Benjo Cherian (BSc Computer Science)( 2015-16) 

IHRD NSS CELL Best  Volunteer Award :-  Sri. Ropson B Vellaplackal (B.Com Commerce with Computer Application) ( 2020-2021 )

Award Winners


Govt. oF KERALA State Award, IHRD State NSS CELL AWARD. Best NSS Programme Officer( 2014-15 and 2015-16)


IHRD state Award, Best NSS Vounteer BSc Computer Science(2014-15)


IHRD state Award, Best NSS Vounteer BSc Computer Science(2015-16)


IHRD state Award, Best NSS Vounteer BCom Commerce with CA(2020-21)

KEY contacts

Dr. Ajith Sen

Programme Co-ordinator IHRD STATE NSS CELL Mobile.No: 8547005001 Email :


Programme Officer Unit No 48 CAS Mavelikkara Mobile No : 8606307245 Email :


Programme Officer Unit No 62 CAS Mavelikkara Mobile No : 9061646027 Email :

College of Applied Science, Mavelikara © 2022 | All Rights Reserved